The 7-Chakra Model: An Update

Originally Published June 07, 2012

One of the first things you will learn if you attend a Pranic Healing Introduction or Pranic Healing Level I class is, for some, a controversial bit of information: There are more than seven major chakras.

While this is hard for some to be open to since most schools and energy healing modalities teach about only seven, it is important to embrace in order to have access to the fullest spectrum of healing we are capable of.  I will mention why in a moment.

How did a 7-chakra model become taught and accepted if it is incomplete?

The spiritual school which brought the initial teachings about the chakras to the West is called Theosophy.  Many Theosophic books are written by Charles Leadbeater.  One his books contains a footnote that explicitly states there are actually more than seven chakras, but they cannot be revealed at this time.

The two main reasons for the creation of the 7-chakra model are 1.  Simplicity and 2.  Safety.

The number seven is very easy for us to remember, as there are seven colors in the rainbow, seven notes on the piano, and the number seven is very pervasive in the Bible and other spiritual teachings.  By keeping things simple to the beginner, the teachings will be much easier to remember and integrate.  (As you may have already guessed, the 7 chakras are not associated with the progression of rainbow colors we see depicted in artistic renditions, either.  This coloring is another way of simplifying the teachings for the public.  Each chakra is multi-colored in a much more complex manner.)

In terms of safety, we must understand how powerful knowledge of energy healing and chakras is.  In the past, we did not have access to the level and degree of spiritual and energy healing teachers as we do today.  Without proper instruction, and with curious experimentation, things could potentially become unsafe.

As an example, one of the chakras which is not part of the 7-chakra model is the meng mein chakra.  It is an important acupuncture point, DU (GV) 4, located on the back behind the navel.  The meng mein controls the blood pressure.  Without knowing this and how to safely heal and work on this chakra, by simply energizing it through experimentation, one could easily raise a person’s blood pressure into stroke territory without knowing it, and with no knowledge of how to bring it back down.

As you can imagine, this chakra is very important to know about when treating a person with hypertension.  Without knowledge of this chakra, it would be much harder to assist this condition energetically.  Another lesser-known chakra of importance is the forehead chakra, located at the hairline.  This chakra controls the nervous system so allows us to more effectively work on conditions like multiple sclerosis.  It also controls the pineal gland, the left eye, and left ear.

It is very important to stay open to new information, as we will only see as much as we expect to see.  In one interaction with a clairvoyant, Master Choa Kok Sui (founder of Pranic Healing) asked him to tell him how many chakras he saw.  He said seven.  Master Choa revealed to him and explained the other four major chakras and then asked him to look again.  After learning about them, the clairvoyant saw, with surprise, the additional four chakras.

As humanity progresses, we are ready for deeper and deeper teachings.  The initial chakra model was brought to us about 100 years ago, so naturally, we are now ready for deeper understandings of spiritual and energy teachings.  Without staying open, we will miss important oppotunities to learn more, expand our horizons, and implement powerful healing techniques into our practices.  For more information on and pictures of the 11-chakra model, see Master Choa Kok Sui’s books on Pranic Healing and visit

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close